The 24th Structural Biology Annual Symposium - 2019

Global web ALERT button





















On May 4th, 2019, the 24th Structural Biology Annual Symposium was successfully held. Six talks were given by renowned scientists. Of the 58 posters presented and 4 posters were selected as winners. Each winner was awarded a prize of $100.


  • Thomas E. Cheatham, III, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Medicinal Chemistry, College of Pharmacy, Director, Research Computing and CHPC, UIT, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
    Title: “Convergence, Reproducbility and Accuracy - There are Still Some Surprises in Modeling the Structure and Dynamics of Nucleic Acids”
  • Edward H. Egelman, Ph.D., Harrison Distinguished Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, University of Virginia School of Medicine, Charlottesville, VA
    Title: “Cryo-EM of Helical Protein and Nucleoprotein Polymers at Near-Atomic Resolution”
  • Matthieu G. Gagnon, Ph.D., Assistant Professor , Department of Microbiology & Immunology, Sealy Center for Structural Biology & Molecular Biophysics, University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX
    Title: “How RRF and tRNA Disassemble the Ribosome During Recycling”
  • Karen Maxwell, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Title: “The Role of anti-CRISPRs in the Phage-Host Evolutionary Arms Race”
  • Michael Sheetz, Ph.D., Director, Mechanobiology Institute, Distinguished Professor, Dept of Biological Sciences, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    Title: ”Nanometer Level Matrix Structures Control Adhesion Clustering and Dynamics”
  • Liang Tong, Ph.D., William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor and Chair, Department of Biological Sciences, Columbia University, New York, NY
    Title: “Structural Studies of RNA 3’-end Processing Machineries”

Poster Winners

  • Jonathan Clinger, Postdoc., Rice University
    Title: Cryo-trapping Crystal Studies of Photoreceptor PixJ Yield New Insights into its Photoconversion Mechanism
  • Bianka Holguin, Student, University of Texas at El Paso
    Title: Mutations in Small Heat-Shock Protein 27 Affect Phosphorylation Regulated Chaperone
  • Caleb Huang, Student, University of Texas Medical Branch
    Title: Diffusion in Membraneless Organelles: A Simple Model
  • Jonathan Mercado, Student, Baylor College of Medicine
    Title: Targeting the Leishmania Hsp100 N Domain to Prevent Infective Parasite Stage Differentiation

The symposium would have been impossible without the following sponsorship:




Thermo Scientific logo