The 18th Annual Structural Biology Annual Symposium -  2013



The 25th Annual Symposium has been cancelled. Hope to see you all again next year.

Logo Design Contest

Past Speakers List

Questions about the Symposium? 


Past Symposia





















This year's symposium was a great success. The one day event was held at the Levin Hall on UTMB campus and attended by around 200 people. Six talks were presented by renowned scientists; the keynote presenter was Prof. William A. Eaton from National Institutes of Health and Prof. Wah Chiu from Baylor College of Medicine. The judges had a difficult time choosing winners from the 78 posters presented.


  • Wah Chiu, Distinguished Service Professor, Alvin Romansky Professor, Member of the National Academy of Sciences
    Departments of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Baylor College of Medicine
    Title: "Visualizing viruses inside and outside the host cell"
  • William A. Eaton, NIH Distinguished Investigator, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, National Institutes of Health
    Title: "Toward observing transition paths in protein folding using single molecule FRET"
  • Dorothee Kern, Professor of Biochemistry, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Brandeis University
    Title: "The choreography of an enzymes dance – dynamics during catalysis"
  • John Kuriyan, Chancellor's Professor, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, Department of Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
    Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
    Title: "Allosteric mechanisms in the activation of the EGF receptor"
  • Todd O. Yeates, Professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California, Los Angeles
    Title: "Giant protein assemblies in nature and by design: a geometry lover in molecular paradise"
  • Whitney Yin, Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology, The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
    Title: "The dual functions of DNA polymerase gamma in replication and repair"

Student Poster Winners

  • Alexey Koyfman — Baylor College of Medicine
  • Rita Sirrieh — UTHSC-Houston
  • Chuan Hong — Baylor College of Medicine